Race Report: Pau, 6 May 1973


Race Report: Pau, 6 May 1973


This was a round of the French F3 championship and consisted of national drivers with a few UK based interlopers, it supported the European F2 Championship round. Jacques Lafitte dominated the proceedings in his Martini winning from pole position by some 42 seconds. Larry Perkins had his GRD running in the top six but retired before the finish.



Race Report: Pau, 6 May 1973

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

Race Report: Pau, 25 April 1971


Race Report: Pau, 25 April 1971


25 entries arrived for this the Critérium du Nivernais, the fourth round of the French F3 Championship, most of the entrants were from the British or French Championships and the race was a support for the F2 European Championship. Leading the small March contingent was the Team Rose Bearings March 713S of James Hunt, also March-mounted were Tim Goss in his Sloan Marshall Garages 713M Holbay whilst in an older 703 powered by a Conrero tuned Alfa Romeo engine was American Cliff Haworth. Brabham-Holbay BT35s were in the hands of Brendan McInerney, Jean-Louis Lafosse and Bernard Lagier, the BT28 of David Purley was also Holbay motivated. The three works Alpine-Renault A360’s were driven by Jean-Pierre Jabouille, Patrick Depailler and rally driver

Jean-Claude Andruet. Christian Ethuin and Gérard Gourdon had their Tecno-Novamotors with Britain’s Chris Skeaping present in his Chavron-Rowland B17. The three Lotus 69s were driven by Andy Sutcliffe with Holbay power, whilst Manfred Möhr used a Novamotor, a late arrival during the Saturday practice was the Eifelland entered 69 for Sigi Hofmann. The remainder of the entry consisted of several Martini MW7s for drivers Jacques Coulon (Renault), Patrice Compain (Renault), François Lacarrau (Rowland), François Migault (Novamotor), Lucien Guitteny, Guy Dhotel, José Dolhem (BRM), Joel Auvray and François Rabbionne (Novamotor).

Practice on Friday was ruined by heavy rain with Depailler fastest from Ethuin, Jabouille and Hunt. Conditions were a little drier on Saturday when José Dolhem topped the times from Depailler and Sutcliffe. Migault crashed his Martini badly damaging the suspension, he was unhurt and the car was repaired in time for the race. Compain, Auvray, Gourdon and Hofmann did not practice for one reason or another whilst Andruet, Dhotel and Haworth did not qualify.

Dolhem led away from pole with Ethuin and Depailler close behind, however at the hairpin outside the Hotel du Parc somebody went sideways and all hell broke loose with cars spinning everywhere. Worst effected by the accident were Jabouille and Hunt both of whom suffered damaged suspension and had to retire, Andy Sutcliife was also badly delayed in the melee. Dolhem continued to lead from Depailler, Ethuin, Migault and Lacarrau but by lap 3 Ethuin was out and Lacarrau had moved up to fourth. Depailler was clearly the fastest car on the track and he swept into the lead on lap 4 ahead of Dolhem and Migault, next up was Lacarrau, Rabbionne, Lafosse, Lagier, Skeaping and Goss. David Purley was next to retire on lap 5 when after a few hairy moments he crashed out going down to the Virage du Buisson. Depailler continued to pull away whilst Dolhem and Migault kept up their battle for second place. Skeaping was next to go when he made solid contact with a tree in Parc Beaumont and Lagier’s Brabham came round with its nosecone pointing up in the air. Dolhem had been doing most of the leading in the second place battle but Migault got past for a few laps but on lap 16 Dolhem regained his position only to loose it again a few laps later. Tim Goss had to call into the pits with a blown head gasket and McInerney was suffering from failing fuel pressure. Depailler reeled of the remaining laps to win by nearly 10 seconds from Migault who had pulled out a small lead on Dolhem, best British driver was Sutcliife who managed to battle his way back to seventh after his early delay.



Race Report: Pau, 25 April 1971


1 José Dolhem

Martini-BRM MW7 1:38.0

2 Patrick Depailler

Alpine-Renault A360

3 Andy Sutcliffe

Lotus-Holbay 69

4 François Migault

Martini-Novamotor MW7


1 Patrick Depailler

Alpine-Renault A360 51:00.6 35 113.624

2 François Migault

Martini-Novamotor MW7 51:15.7 35

3 José Dolhem

Martini-BRM MW7 51:22.1 35

4 François Lacarrau

Martini-Rowland MW7 52:02.7 35

5 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Novamotor 69 52:03.2 35

6 Jean-Louis Lafosse

Brabham-Holbay BT35 52:22.4 35

7 Andy Sutcliffe

Lotus-Holbay 69 34

8 François Rabbionne

Martini-Novamotor MW7 34

9 Bernard Lagier

Brabham-Holbay BT35 33

10 Brendan McInerney

Brabham-Holbay BT35 30