Race Report: Croix-en-Ternois, 20 July 1975


Race Report: Croix-en-Ternois, 20 July 1975


14 of the runners from the British GP support race rushed across the Channel overnight to take part in this round of the European Cup event, an odd choice of date and an odder venue with France no longer staging F3 racing.

There were two practice sessions on Sunday morning, the first damp and the second dry and it was Patrick Neve in the works Safir who set the quickest time ahead of Italian quick men Gaudenzio Mantova and Alessandro Pessenti-Rossi.

Larry Perkins Ralt made a superb start from the second row rocketing between the front row men and taking the lead he would hold for the rest of the race. Mantova settled into second place which he would also keep for the remaining 30 laps whilst Neve found himself battling with Pessenti-Rossi, the second Ralt of Terry Perkins and Stephen South whose start was hampered when he accidentally knocked off the ignition switch on the Ray.
Terry Perkins race was short lived, on lap 3 Fernando Spreafico tried to outbrake the Ralt and spun, Perkins braked hard and was hit up the rear by another car, possibly the March of Dyfed Roberts, the Ralt was out on the spot although Spreafico was able to continue. The rest of the race was uneventful, the tight and twisty nature of the track precluding much overtaking. Neve set fastest lap in his pursuit of Pessenti-Rossi but was unable to find a way past the Italian March.



Race Report: Croix-en-Ternois, 20 July 1975

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00