Race Report: Silverstone, 25 August 1975


Another BP Championship round and it was new American teenage sensation Eddie Cheever that took the fastest time with his Henry Morrogh Racing Drivers School backed Modus M1. Second fastest was Brazilian Ingo Hoffman with the works Modus of Danny Sullivan third quickest. The works Marches of Gunnar Nilsson and Alex Ribeiro were trying a narrower track configuration in an effort to get back to their early season dominance.

Danny Sullivan got away the best and found himself with a good lead at the end of the first lap when Richard Hawkins helped his cause with a spin at Becketts that held up his pursuers. Lap 2 saw two contenders in trouble when Ingo Hoffman rode over the wheel of Dick Parsons Modus, both cars spun and resumed at the tail of the field. Sullivan’s lead began to diminish as the chasing train of Cheever, Ribeiro, Neve, Nilsson and South began to reel him in. By lap 7 Cheever was on the tail of Sullivan and entering Woodcote Cheever went for the inside and took the lead and within a corner Sullivan was down to third as Ribeiro also found a way through.
Ribeiro began to put Cheever under pressure and on lap 10 it was his turn to lead but Cheever wasn’t giving up the fight and three laps later he was back in front again and this time Ribeiro had no answer. At the chequered flag Cheever took the win by 0.6 seconds from Ribeiro, Nilsson was just over s second behind in third after having passed Neve on lap 8 and Sullivan on lap 12.



Race Report: Silverstone, 25 August 1975

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00