Race Report: Brands Hatch, 7 September 1975


Although this wasn’t a championship round Polydor Records had put up a £1000 prize fund which assured most of the usual front runners were in attendance. Pole position went to the works Ralt of Larry Perkins from the Swan Song Records March of Bob Arnott. The two works Marches of Gunnar Nilsson and Alex Ribeiro were languishing back on row three with handling problems.

Arnott found himself in trouble before the start with a misfire, a quick plug change failing to cure the problem. Dick Parsons made the best start chased by Perkins and by lap 5 the two of then had opened out a gap on Rupert Keegan and Danny Sullivan. Arnott was in fifth but his misfire was worsening and on lap 9 he pulled into the pits, he went out again without any change, he pitted again and the problem was discovered, a rotted fuel line.
Keegan had just been advised he had a ten second penalty for a jump start so he was trying to open out a gap to Sullivan. On lap 14 Perkins took the lead at Paddock and immediately began to edge away from Parsons, by the finish he was 4.8 seconds ahead. Keegan’s efforts to get away from Sullivan came to naught when his clutch began to fail on lap 21, he soon began to fall back through the field and on the last lap he pitted and retired. Ribeiro and Nilsson took fourth and fifth behind Sullivan with Chris Barnett next up. Barnett had been having a good battle with Pierre Dieudonné until the Belgian spun off at Clearways. Donald MacLeod did well to finish seventh in his GRD 375 after starting last on the grid.



Race Report: Brands Hatch, 7 September 1975

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00