Race Report: Snetterton, 28 July 1974


With a race at Oulton Park the day before it was fortunate that most of the main runners all arrived at Snetterton for this Lombard North Central round, the only notable absentee being José Espirito Santo. Two new runners were both returnees, Pedro Passadore in a GRD 374 and Mike Tyrrell in a March 733 so a grand total of eleven runners made it to Norfolk. It was Alex Ribeiro who set the fastest time in practice ahead of championship leader Brian Henton although there was some dispute about the times given to some of the drivers.

Ribeiro lead lap 1, Henton lead lap 2 to 15, business as usual, Ribeiro stayed with Henton for a lap but then fell away to finish nearly 8 seconds behind at the end. The only problem Henton had was in having to twice lap the incredibly slow GRD of Len Smith, Ribeiro having similar problems, nearly being taken off the track at Russell as he tried to find a way through.

Tony Rouff made a very slow getaway after stripping second gear and he was down in ninth at the end of lap 1 but he pulled his way up to the fourth place battle between Nicholas von Preussen (March), Pedro Passadore, Barry Maskell (Dastle) and Marcos Moraes (GRD). Jose Chateaubriand retired the second works March at this point with a blown engine, his second of the weekend after loosing one in practice.
Maskell moved his Dastle up to third passing the von Preussen March but Rouff had disposed of the other runners and closed in on Maskell overtaking him at Coram when the Dastle understeered wide. Fifth went to von Preussen from Passadore, Moraes and Derek Lawrence who was hampered with a broken temperature gauge.



Race Report: Snetterton, 28 July 1974

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00