Race Report: Silverstone, 5 May 1974


Once again the F3 cars found themselves in with the Monoposto cars for the latest round of the Forward Trust series despite the disparity in their respective performances.

On a dry track it was the familiar sight of the works March 743 of Brian Henton taking an immediate lead from the GRD 373 of Tony Rouff and the 374 version of Alex Dias Ribeiro, next up it was the second works March 743 of Jose Chateaubriand ahead of the similar car of Buzz Buzaglo with Derek Lawrence sixth in the Ehrlich. The front runners were all running fairly closely together until half distance when it began to rain and Buzaglo had a big spin at Woodcote, he had just passed Chateaubriand and the Brazilian had to take hasty avoidance to miss the gyrating Ippokampos March.
The rain then started to fall even harder with many cars, especially Monopostos, spinning all round the track. Henton slowed his pace to a crawl in the difficult conditions but still took the chequered flag several seconds ahead of Rouff, Ribeiro took third ahead of Chateaubriand. So wet was it that both Rouff and Chateaubriand celebrated completing the race by spinning across the finishing line. Of the other runners Hany Wiano, in the second Ippokampos March, spun into the pits Armco on the last lap, whilst Dick Parsons first race in the Smiths Crisps Ensign was curtailed by a spin at Copse.



Race Report: Silverstone, 5 May 1974

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00