Race Report: Silverstone, 17 March 1974


Round two of the Lombard North Central Championship and this time 10 cars arrived at Silverstone although only eight were destined to start.
Brian Henton put his works March 743 on pole 0.2 seconds ahead of Tony Rouff who this week had a new 2-litre Vegantune engine in the back of his GRD, Jose Chateaubriand in the second works March completed the front row. The non-starters were Alex Ribeiro who suffered from fuel injection bothers in his GRD-Novamotor before he even practised and Barrie Maskell who once again had piston troubles with his Dastle, this time with the team’s 1790cc twin-cam.

Henton timed his start perfectly and into Copse he was ahead of Rouff and Chateaubriand, the latter under pressure from Moraes and Arnott. On lap 2 Chateaubriand ran wide at Woodcote causing Moraes to brake and allowing Arnott to pass both Brazilians in one go as they entered Copse. Moraes spent the rest of the lap hounding Arnott but entering Woodcote he spun wildly letting Chateaubriand up to fourth.
Back at the front Henton was under heavy pressure from Rouff but the March held on to win by 0.6 seconds with both men sharing a new lap record. Arnott was on his own in third with Chateaubriand fourth whilst Moraes outbraked Santo for fifth at Woodcote on the last lap. The only retirement was Derek Lawrence who only managed a few laps before retiring with his engine only firing on three cylinders.



Race Report: Silverstone, 17 March 1974

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00