Race Report: Oulton Park, 10 August 1974

oulton park_10_8_74

The latest Lombard North Central round was all about the weather, it rained heavily in practice which gave the unusual site of Mike Tyrrell on pole in his ex-Tony Brise March 733, and it rained heavily in the race.

There was chaos before the start when on the warm up lap there seemed to be a misunderstanding between Brian Henton and José Espirito Santo which caused Santo to punt Tyrrell up the rear breaking the oil cooler on the Antiguan’s March. Tyrrell stopped at Druids after leaving a long oil trail on the track whilst Santo came to the grid his brakes covered in oil. Henton arrived very late after having to stop to have a broken fuel injection rod fixed and in the confusion he forgot to switch his engine off.

This wasn’t the end of the problems for Henton as both he and team mate Jose Chateaubriand were penalised 70 seconds for jumping the start. To make matters worse the March pit weren’t informed of the penalty until the race was 10 laps old, although Henton speeded up on hearing of the penalty there was insufficient time for him to build up anything like enough of a gap and at the finish he and Chateaubriand dropped to sixth and seventh respectively despite a protest by the March team.
Henton actually finished first on the road thirteen seconds ahead of Alex Ribeiro who became the winner after Henton’s penalty was applied. Nick von Preussen drove very well to take second after demoting Chateaubriand at Old Hall on the last lap and finishing less than a second behind Ribeiro. Derek Lawrence took third from a closely following Tony Rouff and Marcos Moraes, Rouff might have hoped to do better but his race was ruined by broken mounting points on his GRD resulting in terrible handling problems. Santo’s disappointing race was concluded after five slow tours of the wet track.



Race Report: Oulton Park, 10 August 1974

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00