Race Report: Mallory Park, 22 July 1973


Mike Wilds took pole position for the latest round of the Lombank North Central Championship despite practice having to be stopped and then resumed later as a result of an accident between the March of Brazilian “Teleco” and the Royale of John Sheldon. Ian Taylor took the second quickest time in his March from the GRD of Brian Henton. Those in difficulties included Leonel Friedrich who developed a serious engine problem and Alan Jones who found himself on row six when his GRD refused to handle properly.

Everyone got away from the grid without incident but entering Gerards there were too many cars in too little space and Richard Robarts spun collecting the DART GRDs of both Alan Jones and Pedro Passadore as well as Nick Crossley’s March, both Robarts and Crossley were out on the spot but the DART cars continued albeit well down the field. Back at the front it was Wilds from Henton, Taylor, Wood, Harness, Gerber, Brise, Kuwashima and a fading Santo. Henton made several tries to take the lead from Wilds and on lap 5 at Gerards he found a way past and immediately began to edge away. Taylor now moved onto Wilds tail but despite a number of attempts he was unable to gain second and Henton was able to take advantage of their squabbling to ease out to a three second victory.
Wilds managed to keep Taylor at bay to take the runner-up spot by 0.2 seconds with Brise in fourth. Brise had lost his clutch at the start but it gradually came back again and he made up several places despite a coming together with Gerber’s Brabham at the hairpin. Harness and Wood took fifth and sixth with Kuwashima retiring from seventh in the closing laps when his March lost fifth gear.



Race Report: Mallory Park, 22 July 1973

Race Heat 1

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 20:09.40

2 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 20:09.50

3 Luigi Fontanesi

Tecno-Ford 20:13.10

4 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 20:23.40

Race Heat 2

1 Giovanni Lo Voi

Brabham-Ford BT28 15:05.00

2 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 15:05.00

3 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 15:21.00

4 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 15:34.10

5 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28

Race Final

1 Vittorio Brambilla

Birel Alfa Romeo 30:44.30 144.318

2 Marcello Gallo

Brabham BT28 30:44.34

3 Fabrizio Noe

Lotus-Ford 69 30:45.10

4 Adelmo Fossati

Brabham BT28 30:55.40

5 Patrice Compain

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00

6 Carlo Franchi (Gimax)

De Sanctis-Alfa Romeo 31:11.50

7 Manfred Möhr

Lotus-Ford 31:59.60

8 Giovanni Lo Voi

Martini-Ford MW7 31:08.00