Race Report: Thruxton, 29 August 1971


The day after the Lombank round at Oulton many of the same drivers headed south for this Forward Trust event at Thruxton.

The front row consisted of Dave Walker’s Lotus 69, Brian McGuire’s Brabham BT28 and Barrie Maskell’s Chevron B18 and just before the start two drivers found themselves in trouble, James Hunt whose engine wouldn’t start due to oiled plugs and Jody Scheckter who had to start from the back row when he arrived at the grid late. Walker led from the start with a gap already developing to McGuire, Maskell and Andy Sutcliffe who made a great start from the fourth row in his Lotus 69 after he had fuel pressure problems in practice.

Richard Longman came next in his Lotus 69 ahead of Roger Williamson’s March 713M that was in dire handling difficulties. As Walker continued to dominate at the front the next group that now numbered six with the addition of Chris Skeaping’s Chevron B18 were swopping places all round the circuit and behind them David Purley (Ensign LN1), Peter Hull (Brabham BT28) and Ray Mallock’s U2 were battling hard.
Scheckter was catching up with the latter group when on the third lap Purley spun between Goodwood and Church causing Hull to spin in avoidance, Scheckter and Mallock arrived to find the circuit blocked and both took to the grass, Mallock hit the back damaging the rear end of the U2 and Scheckter stalled his engine and couldn’t restart it. Also out was Purley with front end damage while Hull was able to continue after a delay. Walker continued on his merry way to an 8 second victory, behind him Williamson took over second place six laps from the finish and held the position to the flag despite the best efforts of Maskell and Sutcliffe. The Chevron driver took third place from the Lotus driver with some contact going on between the two on the last lap, Longman followed them home and after Skeaping spun at Church McGuire took sixth. Hunt was never in the hunt (sorry!) after a push start and a pit stop to change his oiled plugs, he finished three laps down.



Race Report: Thruxton, 29 August 1971


1 Dave Walker

Lotus-Novamotor 69 13:38.6 15 103.61

2 Roger Williamson

March-Holbay 713M 13:46.2 15

3 Barrie Maskell

Chevron-Holbay B18 13:46.4 15

4 Andy Sutcliffe

Lotus-Holbay 69 13:46.4 15

5 Richard Longman

Lotus-Novamotor/Longman 69 13:48.0 15

6 Brian McGuire

Brabham-Vegantune BT28 13:54.8 15

Fastest Lap

Barrie Maskell

Chevron-Holbay B18 1:20.8 104.97