Race Report: Silverstone 4 April 1971


Taking place the day after the Shell/Motor Sport round at Brands Hatch it was hardly surprising that only seven cars made the journey to Silverstone for this Forward Trust event. Dave Walker put the Gold Leaf Team Lotus 69, still suffering with clutch problems, on pole ahead of Roger Williamson’s March 713M, also on the front row were Andy Sutcliffe in a Lotus 69 chassis that had suffered some damage at Brands Hatch and the Brabham BT35 of Brendan McInerney. On the second and final(!) row were Tim Goss in his March 713M, Tom Walkinshaw with a standard engine in his March 713M following a blowup of his race unit and Chris O’Brien in his Brabham BT35.

Walker made a leisurely start to preserve his clutch allowing Sutcliife to take the lead, this only lasted as far as Becketts when Williamson went sailing past into first place. However by Woodcote Walker had surged past both cars into a lead he was not to loose. Williamson and Sutcliffe then proceeded to have a mighty tussle, Sutcliffe apparently not being slowed after knocking his nose cone askew after contact with Williamson. On the last lap Williamson braked as late as possible into Woodcote and aided by Sutcliffe missing a gear held on for second place. McInerney, Goss and Walkinshaw followed the first three home after each having a troublefree, if lonely, race.



Race Report: Silverstone 4 April 1971


1 Colin Vandervell

Brabham-Rowland BT35 1:38.4

2 Bev Bond

Ensign-Holbay LN1 1:38.6

3 Dave Walker

Lotus-Novamotor 69 1:39.0

4 Roger Williamson

March-Holbay 713M 1:40.6

5 Ian Ashley

Lotus-Novamotor 69 1:41.2

6 Brendan McInerney

Brabham-Holbay BT35 1:41.8

7 Claude Bourgoignie

Lotus-Holbay 69 1:41.8

8 Tim Goss

March-Holbay 713M 1:42.2

9 Alan Joy

Brabham-Rowland BT28 1:42.2

10 Andy Sutcliffe

Lotus-Holbay 69 1:42.2

11 Jean-Louis Lafosse

Brabham-Holbay BT35 1:42.6

12 James Hunt

March-Holbay 713S 1:43.8

13 Richard Longman

Lotus-Holbay 69 1:44.2

14 Chris O'Brien

Brabham-Holbay BT35 1:48.6

Brabham-Holbay BT35 1:50.2

Lotus-Novamotor 69 NT


1 Bev Bond

Ensign-Holbay LN1 1-07:03.0 40 94.85

2 Roger Williamson

March-Holbay 713M 1-07:04.8 40

3 Ian Ashley

Lotus-Novamotor 69 1-07:44.4 40

4 Claude Bourgoignie

Lotus-Holbay 69 1-08:05.6 40

5 Dave Walker

Lotus-Novamotor 69

6 Brendan McInerney

Brabham-Holbay BT35 39

7 Tim Goss

March-Holbay 713M 39

8 Bernard Lagier

Brabham-Holbay BT35 36

9 Chris O'Brien

Brabham-Holbay BT35 36

10 Richard Longman

Lotus-Holbay 69 31

11 Andy Sutcliffe

Lotus-Holbay 69 31