Race Report: Montlhéry, 23 May 1971


Surprisingly this race at Montlhéry, the XVI Prix de Paris, was scheduled to take place on the day after the Monaco GP support race but even so a representative entry arrived with several drivers stopping off at the French track on their way back to their bases. The race was held over 20 laps and was the sixth round of the French F3 Championship.

Fastest in practice was Jean-Louis Lafosse in his Brabham BT35 from the Martinis of Patrice Compain and Lucien Guitteny.

At the start the leading group consisted of Lafosse, Ethuin (Tecno), Coulon (Martini), Williamson (March), Thompson (Ensign), Depailler (Alpine) and Jabouille (Alpine). Coulon was soon out with a blown engine and then Depailler crashed out at Virage de la Ferme when he hit a patch of oil. Next out was Williamson and Jabouille found himself falling back from the leading group. This left Ethuin, Lafosse and Thompson fighting for victory, Thompson got ahead of Lafosse’s Brabham but found the Tecno of Ethuin a more difficult prospect. On the last corner of the last lap Thompson pushed the Ensign ahead of the Tecno and held on to take the chequered flag by two tenths of a second. In the overtaking attempt Thompson lost control of the Lotus as it crossed the line and hit a straw bale wiping a corner off the car, he commented after it was a case of hit the bale or finish second!



Race Report: Montlhéry, 23 May 1971


1 Jean-Louis Lafosse

Brabham-Holbay BT35

2 Patrice Compain

Martini-Novamotor MW7

3 Lucien Guitteny

Martini-BRM MW7

4 Christian Ethuin

Tecno-Renault TF3/71

5 Jacques Coulon

Martini-Renault MW7

6 Steve Thompson

Ensign-Holbay LN1

7 François Migault

Martini-Novamotor MW7

8 Patrick Depailler

Alpine-Renault A360

9 Joel Auvray

Martini-Novamotor MW7

10 Roger Williamson

March-Holbay 713M


1 Steve Thompson

Ensign-Holbay LN1 31:59.2

2 Christian Ethuin

Tecno-Renault TF3/71 31:59.4

3 Jean-Louis Lafosse

Brabham-Holbay BT35 32:03.4

4 François Migault

Martini-Novamotor MW7 32:11.9

5 Jean-Pierre Jabouille

Alpine-Renault A360 32:25.4

6 François Lacarrau

Martini-Renault MW7 19 Laps