Race Report: Brands Hatch, 3 April 1971


Fifteen cars from an entry of 36 actually arrived at Brands Hatch for this round of the Shell/Motor Sport Championship. Most numerous chassis was Brabham with six cars, Colin Vandervell in his usual Rowland powered BT35, Holbay versions were on hand for Brendan McInerney, Chris O’Brien and from France Jean-Louis Lafosse and Bernard Lagier. Alan Joy was in his updated BT28 Rowland. Five Lotus 69s, three of them new models were the next numerous type, previously seen were the Holbay powered cars of Andy Sutcliffe and Claude Bourgoignie. New chassis were in the hands of Dave Walker in the works Gold Leaf car, although it was only new in the sense it hadn’t been seen this year, it was in fact a Lotus 59 updated to 69

spec,  it was fitted with a Novamotor engine. A similar power unit was to be found in the Ian Ashley car that was likewise an updated 59, whilst Richard Longman relied on a Holbay for his “proper” 69. Three Marches came next, all Holbay powered, James Hunt had his usual spaceframe model with Roger Williamson and Tim Goss in the monocoque version. Final entry was the singleton Ensign-Holbay for Bev Bond.



Race Report: Brands Hatch, 3 April 1971


1 Colin Vandervell

Brabham-Rowland BT35 1:38.4

2 Bev Bond

Ensign-Holbay LN1 1:38.6

3 Dave Walker

Lotus-Novamotor 69 1:39.0

4 Roger Williamson

March-Holbay 713M 1:40.6

5 Ian Ashley

Lotus-Novamotor 69 1:41.2

6 Brendan McInerney

Brabham-Holbay BT35 1:41.8

7 Claude Bourgoignie

Lotus-Holbay 69 1:41.8

8 Tim Goss

March-Holbay 713M 1:42.2

9 Alan Joy

Brabham-Rowland BT28 1:42.2

10 Andy Sutcliffe

Lotus-Holbay 69 1:42.2

11 Jean-Louis Lafosse

Brabham-Holbay BT35 1:42.6

12 James Hunt

March-Holbay 713S 1:43.8

13 Richard Longman

Lotus-Holbay 69 1:44.2

14 Chris O'Brien

Brabham-Holbay BT35 1:48.6

Brabham-Holbay BT35 1:50.2

Lotus-Novamotor 69 NT


1 Bev Bond

Ensign-Holbay LN1 1-07:03.0 40 94.85

2 Roger Williamson

March-Holbay 713M 1-07:04.8 40

3 Ian Ashley

Lotus-Novamotor 69 1-07:44.4 40

4 Claude Bourgoignie

Lotus-Holbay 69 1-08:05.6 40

5 Dave Walker

Lotus-Novamotor 69

6 Brendan McInerney

Brabham-Holbay BT35 39

7 Tim Goss

March-Holbay 713M 39

8 Bernard Lagier

Brabham-Holbay BT35 36

9 Chris O'Brien

Brabham-Holbay BT35 36

10 Richard Longman

Lotus-Holbay 69 31

11 Andy Sutcliffe

Lotus-Holbay 69 31