Race Report: Brands Hatch, 15 August 1971


Williamson and Hunt shared the front row for this Lombank F3 round, sitting next to them was the Merlyn Mk21 of Jody Scheckter having its second race which was going well although Scheckter had to finish practice early due to his engine mysteriously cutting out. The next row consisted of Alan Jones ahead of Colin Vandervell whilst the third row featured Bev Bond in his new March-Holbay 713M.

At the start Williamson took the lead from Jones, Hunt, Vandervell, Bond and Scheckter. On lap 5 Hunt passed Jones and set off after Williamson whilst further back Scheckter had passed Bond and was closing in on Vandervell. On lap 7 Jones tried to take the lead at Kidney and had a grassy moment dropping to sixth, the handling of his Brabham not being improved by having to use intermediates after puncturing a slick in practice. Hunt passed Williamson to take the lead on lap 9 and for the remaining six laps the two continually swopped position although Hunt seemed to be doing most of the leading. Scheckter had passed Vandervell and had started to pull away when his engine cutting out reared its head again, the Merlyn fell back into the clutches of the Brabham and the two fought it out for third place to the flag.
As the two leaders approached the finishing line it was anybody’s race but as the flag fell it was Hunt by a matter of inches, the battle for third was just as tight with Scheckter and Vandervell running side-by-side through Paddock and Druids, Scheckter took the lead along Bottom Bend and then his engine faltered again and Vandervell grabbed the lead and just managed to keep it to the flag. Alan Jones took fifth when Bond spun but continued to finish sixth. The only retirement was David Purley who spun his Brabham into the bank at Clearways.



Race Report: Brands Hatch, 15 August 1971


1 Roger Williamson

March-Holbay 713M

2 James Hunt

March-Holbay 713M 3M

3 Jody Scheckter

Merlyn-Holbay Mk21

4 Alan Jones

Brabham-Vegantune BT35

5 Sandy Shepard

Brabham-Holbay BT28

6 Colin Vandervell

Brabham-Vegantune BT35

7 Bev Bond

March-Holbay 71

8 Wolfgang Küther

Melkus-Wartburg 13

9 Dieter Pankrath

SEG-Wartburg 13

10 Manfred Berger

SEG-Wartburg 13

11 Klaus-Peter Krause

Melkus-Wartburg 11

12 Karl Wendlinger

? (1600cc) 8


1 James Hunt

March-Holbay 713M 16:33.2 20 89.89

2 Roger Williamson

March-Holbay 713M 16:33.2 20

4 Jody Scheckter

Merlyn-Holbay Mk21 16:40.2 20

5 Alan Jones

Brabham-Vegantune BT28 16:50.4 20

6 Bev Bond

March-Holbay 713M 20

7 Alan McCully

Lotus-Vegantune 69 20

8 Peter Hull

Brabham-Vegantune BT28 20

9 Brendan McInerney

March-Vegantune 713M 20

10 Sandy Shepard

Brabham-Holbay BT28 20

11 Tim Goss

March-Holbay 713M 20